S-PAutomotive.com

Author Topic: 1980 Rabbit Diesel manual Project  (Read 26062 times)

November 29, 2014, 11:04:10 pm

acidtonic

1980 Rabbit Diesel manual Project
« on: November 29, 2014, 11:04:10 pm »
I just picked up a 1980 VW Rabbit Diesel (1.6 I believe 1.5 engine) with the 4 speed manual and a sun roof for $600. Car has 82,000 original miles and seems to be quite rust free for the number of years.

There are minor problems yet I was able to start it up and drive it 45 minutes home under its own power.

I'm completely new to diesel yet I have other gas performance cars. The 1st and biggest problem is a leak either from the injector or the throttle-input seal around the fuel injection pump that causes the car to lose prime after sitting overnight. Then I have to pull the hose off the fuel filter and pour diesel in before I'm able to start it. Also it didn't want to start in the snow when I first bought it until I was able to plug in the block heater. So my guess there is the glow plugs probably need replacing. There is a very small and almost non-existant coolant leak from this little 2 inch piece of rubber hose in front of the radiator where it appears to go into what I believe is the T-stat housing.

Here are a bunch of pics to show the car and it's starting condition which I think was a downright *steal* for $600 It has a beautiful interior and really only needs minor fix ups to be 100% ready.

Problems in list form.
1. Injection pump leak causing car to lose prime.
2. Leak around injector #3 but it doesn't seem to be fast. (might be part of prime-loss issue?)
3. Glow plugs that need replacing for the harsh winter here in Michigan.
4. Front turn-signals aren't hooked up. Rears work fine.
5. Only high beams work, yet no one seems to notice when I just leave the brights on with such small lights (hehe)