Fixmyvw.com

Author Topic: Klaus, the 84 Jetta TD, gets a rebuild  (Read 48751 times)

August 01, 2010, 10:04:35 pm

wolfsburged

• Junior

Klaus, the 84 Jetta TD, gets a rebuild
« on: August 01, 2010, 10:04:35 pm »
We have mostly been lurking, but now it is time for a proper introduction and build thread.

My wife (JessaBug) and I have been tinkering on "Klaus" for two years now, after rescuing him from a backyard of a VW hoarder with too many projects and not enough time. He'd been off the road for years, and we were able to get him on the road safely, if a bit roughly.

Klaus is a factory Jetta GL Turbo Diesel. Mileage is unknown; odometer was stopped around 180,000 when we got him.

Long story short, two years later Klaus's fuel economy is a down to around 30 MPG even, loosing oil, murky brown coolant continuously, and marginal compression (360-400 PSI). So a rebuild is in order.

For the whole past 2 years of build thread info, we have a thread on NC Dubs: http://www.forums.ncdubs.org/showthread.php?t=11115

The engine rebuild sub-project is now in progress!

A big thanks to Apex Tuning for letting us pull the car in on Saturday and pull the motor. Extra thanks to Pinky for helping get the damn toilet bowl exhaust clamps off.

The Northern Tools engine stand I bought turned out to only have 3 of the 4 wheels on the ground, so we returned that and luckily my dad showed up with a spare stand just when we needed it.

Saturday we got the engine and transmission pulled, mounted it to the stand, and got the accessories off. We power washed the transmission and found out it was actually silver! The car is parked outside at Apex for now.

Last time together before the rebuild

Disconnecting the axles. There is a mk1 Jetta convergence!

Making a mess

Hooking up the hoist

All out

Trans before power washing

And after the first pass.

Riding high with no engine

Today we degreased/cleaned the brackets and bits we pulled off, in preparation for sandblasting and paint.