S-PAutomotive.com

Author Topic: Diesel Engine run away  (Read 18203 times)

August 11, 2005, 12:31:12 pm

A Guy

Diesel Engine run away
« on: August 11, 2005, 12:31:12 pm »
Hello group.  I'm a newbie to this group.  I was directed here from another VW group. As this one is diesel specific, I hope I can solve my delema.  
I have a 91 Golf with a 1.6L.  It just turned over 200 000Km.  It runs well and smoothly with only a small puff on start up.  
My problem occurs on the highway and so far only when in fifth gear.  Suddenly without much if any warning the car will take off and at the same time emit a massive cloud of smelly, thick smoke.  All I can do is take my foot off the gas and let it burn out.  The engine usually races for a second maybe two and then all returns to normal with the exception of the choking motorcyclist behind me :oops: .  I want to know why this happens and what I can do to fix it from happening.  Today it happened again on my way into work but this time it lasted a second longer than normal.  Any and all advice is greatly appreciated.
thank you in advance.
Greg

Reply #1August 11, 2005, 01:23:05 pm

fspGTD

• Veteran

• http://home.comcast.net/~vwgtd
Diesel Engine run away
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2005, 01:23:05 pm »
It's happening from oil getting into the combustion chambers and being burnt as fuel instead of the diesel.  If not addressed and it runs away without you catching it, the motor can over-revv which can cause expensive engine damage.

Easiest fix which might work (you could try) is improving the crankcase breather system.  This thread has some ideas along those lines:
http://www.vwdiesel.net/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=1490