S-PAutomotive.com

Author Topic: '82 caddy Deisel starts but only runs breifly  (Read 6793 times)

November 06, 2006, 09:11:13 pm

Mike D.

• User+

'82 caddy Deisel starts but only runs breifly
« on: November 06, 2006, 09:11:13 pm »
I had numerous electrical issues with this project and got some very good help with it here so here I am again. All the electrical problems are fixed and I've gotten it to run three times, but only for a couple seconds and then it dies. I bled out the injector pump to injector lines and was only able to get fuel out of three of them. The fourth one doesn't even have fuel coming out the fuel port at the pump. Do you think it would help to rig the intake line to a container of ATF and disconnect the injector lines and run them into the same container and then turn the engine over to circulate the ATF through the pump in an attempt to clean out the pump trying to break loose whatever is not working inside? I'm very new to diesels and it seemed like it was worth trying, but I don't want to hurt the thing so I'm seeking more experienced council.

Reply #1November 06, 2006, 09:19:10 pm

burn_your_money

• Global Moderator
  • Veteran

• Personal Text
    Bright, On
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2006, 09:19:10 pm »
Do you have alot of air in the lines? I had a similar problem and it was just excessive air. After enough cranking it cleared itself and then it ran fine. How long did you crack the fuel line that isn't getting fuel open for?
Tyler

Reply #2November 06, 2006, 09:37:23 pm

Mike D.

• User+

« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2006, 09:37:23 pm »
Nice to hear from you again. I cranked the thing 'till the battery died, charged it up again, and then disconnected that line from the pump to see if I was even getting fuel out of the pump and I wasn't.

Reply #3November 06, 2006, 09:50:33 pm

RabbitJockey

• Veteran

• Personal Text
    America, DUCK YEAH!!!
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2006, 09:50:33 pm »