Fixmyvw.com

Author Topic: My engine misses when cold  (Read 5603 times)

December 06, 2004, 03:08:49 am

vwmike

• Authorized Vendor
  • Veteran

My engine misses when cold
« on: December 06, 2004, 03:08:49 am »
So, like the title says, my engine misses when cold but gets better as it warms up. It also tends to smoke more when cold and the stumbling gets worse at certain throttle positions. I've never owned a diesel before so I'm still learning on this a bit, but I can only assume one of two things - fuel or compression. Being as though it runs fine otherwise with no oil consumption to speak of I tend to think it's a fuel issue. It's only getting about 39mpg so I tend to think it's just getting too much fuel and it can't atomize properly when it's cold.

What do you guys think?

Reply #1December 06, 2004, 12:31:55 pm

QuickTD

• Veteran

« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2004, 12:31:55 pm »
Your timing sounds like it is slightly retarded.  Does pulling the cold start advance help?

Reply #2December 06, 2004, 12:41:46 pm

fspGTD

• Veteran

• http://home.comcast.net/~vwgtd
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2004, 12:41:46 pm »
Sounds like a textbook case of bad glowplugs to me.  :wink:

First test that voltage is getting to them when it should be.  This is easy to do and rules out a bunch of electrical problems like the glow plug relay, glow plug firewall-mounted fuse, etc.

If you're getting voltage, might want to buy a set of them (they are not really very cheap though!) and then remove the buss bar to test each individually, either replacing just the bad ones or alternatively, replace all of them together.  I'd recommend just trying to keep all 4 plugs having the same brand & correct part number for the application, if possible.