Fixmyvw.com

Author Topic: mod jitters on my Jetta  (Read 2104 times)

November 12, 2004, 05:58:30 am

ejust

• Junior

mod jitters on my Jetta
« on: November 12, 2004, 05:58:30 am »
Im new to the diesel world but something about my '86 TD Jetta i love. 45mpg (19.1km/L?) is a good start. Longevity is another. As we head toward winter, i do dread it a bit as i dont know what to expect starting as it gets cold here in Wisconsin. My car will sit at work for over 11 hrs before it gets started at 2am to go home. Tips for the cold would be great!

My post here is that ive noticed threads on mods. Ive gotta headache trying to comprehend some of it since im new to the oil burner world. Id like to play with the pump and increase the power on the car a bit without getting carried away. i dont need 6k for rpms. Extra zip around the 2-4k r's would be nice. Doesnt really seem to pull good till well over 3200.  I really dont want to screw up my milage as thats half the reason why i bought the car (the other half is to learn about them - diesels)  Tips in plain english (terms an idiot would understand <--me since im new LOL) would be nice. Call it a learning session. Thanks for your help!! Diesel Dawg (cadet)

V-dubs r cool n Audi's rule,
German cars make me drool!
'86 Jetta TD (Hoop-D)
'86 Audi 5000S

Reply #1November 12, 2004, 06:14:19 am

web

• Junior

mod jitters on my Jetta
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2004, 06:14:19 am »
There's not a lot you can do to improve power before the turbo has spooled (which I'm guessing is holding it back below 3,200).

You could increase fuel delivery to just before it starts to smoke, in hopes of making it spool up sooner. Slight adjustments to pump timing may also help, as will a fresh air filter. Other than that, probably all you can do is fit a smaller turbo to make it spool sooner.

Once the turbo is spinning hard, there's a lot more you can do without increasing revs (intercooling, extra boost, etc).