Author Topic: Suzuki + VW diesel?  (Read 3162 times)

November 10, 2004, 11:00:58 pm

addautomotive

Suzuki + VW diesel?
« on: November 10, 2004, 11:00:58 pm »
Hey folks... I've been doing the VW diesel thing for a couple years now, and am completely hooked. For one thing, i just love the sheer "mechanicalness" (is that a word?) of the diesel engine, I also really enjoy the "feel" of a VW. I've had an 87 NA Jetta for a couple years, it's now at 593K, 49 K of which is on used vegetable oil. I picked up a 96 1.9Td jetta this summer... and hopefully will be able to do some of the basic diesel mods this winter... once it's converted to vegoil too. The 1.9 is a GREAT engine, and I really look forward to tooling with it.

Anyway, there's been some automotive serendipity in the last month or so... first, my 87 jetta has outlived its usefullness. It still runs great, but is too old, ugly and rattly to be a daily driver the the Lady and I. (Hence the 96). I hate to just dump it, I re-ringed it last year and the suspension is pretty fresh. Plus it has a .71 5th.
Second, I managed to pounce on a GREAT deal a couple months ago... an 87 Suzuki Samurai longbody. It's in pretty damn good shape.. with a little body rust and some general "old car' issues... but for $500 I couldn't say no. Anyway, you know what comes next. I want to put the two vehicles in a transmorgifier and come out with a Suzuki Samurai diesel. Whatever comes out the other end can go to the wrecking yard.

My question is... has anyone done this, and if so what are the REAL costs and obstacles? There are kits out there for under $400 US that include the adapter plate, flywheel and engine mounts. I'd have to scrounge some manifolds, oil filter brackets and assorted bric-a-brac. Anyone gone this route? FeedbacK?Admonitions?

Reply #1November 11, 2004, 02:54:43 am

DVST8R

• Veteran

Suzuki + VW diesel?
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2004, 02:54:43 am »