S-PAutomotive.com

Author Topic: Ahu m- pump  (Read 5377 times)

October 03, 2019, 04:15:34 pm

gersgolfs

• Junior

Ahu m- pump
« on: October 03, 2019, 04:15:34 pm »
Hi folks , just checking to see if I could use a  pump from a GTD golf I think it’s from a 1990 car on a  Ahu engine. I’m new to diesels so any help will be much appreciated. Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Reply #1October 03, 2019, 04:17:28 pm

Bassfishingtwo

Re: Ahu m- pump
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2019, 04:17:28 pm »
I’m assuming you’re talking about a 1.6td pump?

Reply #2October 03, 2019, 04:58:07 pm

gersgolfs

• Junior

« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2019, 04:58:07 pm »
Sorry yes it’s a 1.6gtd

Reply #3October 03, 2019, 05:11:38 pm

Bassfishingtwo

« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2019, 05:11:38 pm »
So the older vw motor’s are IDI motor’s (indirect injection) where as your AHU motor is a TDI motor (direct injection). I’m sure you could probably make the motor start with a 1.6 pump but it wouldn’t run right. I’ve heard stories of people building these hybrid pumps and crazy things like that to run TDI’s but I’ve never paid it any mind really.
If you’re looking to run that AHU fully mechanical then do yourself a favor and just go buy a new pump to build the motor with. I choose to go with the Land Rover TDI pump but there’s other options you can make work.

Reply #4October 04, 2019, 02:10:45 am

gersgolfs

• Junior

« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2019, 02:10:45 am »
Cheers mate, just checking as I have a spare Ahu engine and I picked up parts from a gtd engine and I thought they might work in the Ahu. I currently have an aaz engine in my cabriolet I’m just trying to see how to wire it up to get it running, any tips?Also  can any of the gtd parts be used on an aaz engine to give me a bit more power? Thanks again for your reply

Reply #5October 04, 2019, 02:13:27 am

gersgolfs

• Junior

« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2019, 02:13:27 am »
Are you a keen fisherman by the way?