Author Topic: Building a New Rabbit Heart - 1.9 TD  (Read 6019 times)

March 07, 2016, 10:20:09 am

Derekxj

• Junior

Building a New Rabbit Heart - 1.9 TD
« on: March 07, 2016, 10:20:09 am »
Hey gents!

So here I am again. I've been stalking these forums for a few years now - bouncing in and out as my life and interests in what i wanted to do with my car changed.

Little summery, its an 84 Rabbit 1.6D NA. 5 speed.
My goals have always been, to keep this car as my daily go-getter getting awesome fuel mileage. Its gotten to the point however where I dont really ENJOY driving it anymore. At first it was cool, and different. Now it just feels slow and boring. With this said, ive been on the hunt for a 1.9 TDI to make an MTDI for a while now. Finally found an engine at an amazing cost - Originally told it was a tdi, but owner knew literally nothing about the engine -  if it was good or bad. All i knew was i would be building something so i didnt care.

With all of this said, i know the engine came from canada and im REALLY beginning to suspect it might be an AAZ. Can some of you help identify? This will be my build thread. I'm striving to make my car FAST. I want to squeeze every last bit of power and torque out as possible. Machine work, and whatever else required is NOT an issue. I will be building this over - time. I want my car to spin tires through 3 gears. I want to have enough top end pull to put a passenger back into the seat, and hard at 50+ mph if i want to.

Internals? Head work? Intakes? Here's what im starting with!!!

Reply #1March 07, 2016, 04:10:05 pm

carrizog60

• Veteran

Re: Building a New Rabbit Heart - 1.9 TD
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2016, 04:10:05 pm »
you have a 1.9td.
the tdi head is not straight.
vw golf gti G60--vw passat 1.9td gt2052v
yamaha vmax 1200- yamaha tdm 850
Portugal

Reply #2March 08, 2016, 08:38:40 am

Derekxj

• Junior

« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2016, 08:38:40 am »
you have a 1.9td.