Author Topic: Did I get a bad pump?  (Read 4071 times)

November 18, 2014, 08:26:28 am

offalot

• User+

Did I get a bad pump?
« on: November 18, 2014, 08:26:28 am »
I ordered a Landy pump from UK quite some time ago and now that it's winter, I'm starting to put my motor together for my caddy.  I questioned it when I got the pump but now I really have to know. When I rotate the pulley shaft of the mTDI pump, I go about a 3rd rotation then the shaft tightens up and doesn't go any further. The IDI pumps that I am used to spin fully with a little bit of resistance. I am hoping this is a TDI thing and I didn't get a bad pump from overseas. Sorry if this sounds like a total noob question. Just getting used to this new fangled stuff.

By the way, anyone know of what happened to CRSMP5. We were discussing rebuilding the pump at one time, when I came back to the forum, I can't seem to locate him.

Reply #1November 18, 2014, 09:25:12 am

theman53

• Global Moderator
  • Veteran

• Personal Text
    Holmes County Ohio - North Central Ohio
Re: Did I get a bad pump?
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2014, 09:25:12 am »
He doesn't like the format of this forum any longer, so he opted out. If it is an 11mm pump it should have stiffer springs than the 9mm pump for an idi

Reply #2November 18, 2014, 10:27:34 am

offalot

• User+

« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2014, 10:27:34 am »
Thanks. So I wasn't wanting to force it. Maybe I should try rotating a little harder to get it to go around? I;ll try. unfortunately I'm at work so I'll try it tonight. Just didn't want to hurt anything.
So you're about an hour away from me. I'm in NE Ohio.

Reply #3November 18, 2014, 11:01:39 am

theman53

• Global Moderator
  • Veteran

• Personal Text
    Holmes County Ohio - North Central Ohio
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2014, 11:01:39 am »
I wouldn't "force" it as if something is off it could break but use more force than you would with the 9mm pump.

Reply #4November 18, 2014, 11:58:48 am

libbydiesel