S-PAutomotive.com

Author Topic: Swapping a 1.6 td / Restoring a MK1 rabbit  (Read 2485 times)

September 17, 2013, 06:38:55 pm

nazrat007

Swapping a 1.6 td / Restoring a MK1 rabbit
« on: September 17, 2013, 06:38:55 pm »
Hi there, I'm a newbie. My project is a 83 rabbit I grabbed from a friend, really really solid car. The interior is pretty rough but I'd rather refurb the interior than be in sheet metal hell, haha. I'm installing a 1.6 td that I'm still acquiring some parts for. I'm going to buy a rebuilt 020 trans w/ upgraded diff once I finish the motor. I've researched for awhile but this my first diesel build so I look forward to respectful advice and suggestions.

Goals: approx 150-175 hp "safely"

Engine parts acquired:
 -machined block (mechanical)
 -machined crank
 -new head (mechanical) from eurospec sport
 -rebuild pump from Giles
 -rebuild injectors from Giles
 -turbo core/ haven't decided what specs would be best  (dont know much about turbos, I want good response and boost in lower rpms thinking that a variable would be best)  **would like to hear suggestions from you guys**

Engine parts needed:
 -connecting rods; debating on grabbing h-beam and having them rifled (over kill)
 -new turbo diesel pistons
 -hoses and fresh plumbing; I want to to running solid (stainless steel) lines were possible
 -intercooler
 -upgraded and/ modified intake manifold
 -All fresh hardware

Braking: still needed
 -planning on upgrading front discs and later the rears
 -run stainless lines

Suspension: still needed
 -upgrade to coil overs; preferably koni but not sure I have to price and compare specs
 -fresh ball joints, bushings and motor/tranny mounts

Interior:
 -new carpet, headliner and door cards. I want the interior to match my recently acquired grey recaro's
 -clean, inspect, repair and modify cluster(I want the tac to work); previously a gasser rabbit

Exterior:
 -full tear down da, perform body repairs, spray underside and interior w/ chassis saver.