Author Topic: Rebuilding the 1.6 na for my Caddy  (Read 7010 times)

August 25, 2013, 04:08:31 pm

VeroDubs

Rebuilding the 1.6 na for my Caddy
« on: August 25, 2013, 04:08:31 pm »
Hey guys, fount this forum through VWVortex, and thought I would do my build thread here too as there is a wealth of knowledge here!  I look forward to sharing and learning.  -ERIK

8/19/13

So I am new to diesels, as in completely new.  I have rebuilt 8v's and built aircooled's from the crank out.  But don't have a clue what I am doing with this thing. :laugh:

I picked up this caddy a while ago and it had this motor sitting on the floor in the cab.  So I yanked it out of there and stuck it in my garage on an engine stand, and thats where it sat!   Till Saturday.

Heres the caddy in question-

I finally am inspired to get my butt to work on the caddy.  Been dailying my 87 GLI, but need to do some work on it too.  So I need another vehicle running in order to take my GLI off the road.

I found this thread on a 1.6 rebuild on a budget, and I am sort of in the same boat.  But I also like to do things right and once!  So I will pony up a little more for parts if needed.  

Link is now dead...

I started trying to clean the motor on Saturday and cranking it over with a wrench, when I noticed I could feel some binding.  Not in the crank, but in the head.  So instead of trying to clean it up, I decided to tear it down and start at the block.  Check for cracks, clean and paint, then reassemble.  I am a neat freak when it comes to engine bays, and like things to be clean.

While looking inside, I noticed that there are some metal shavings on the oil pump gear I believe.  What does this look like to you guys?

By the way, I am a photographer and love taking photos.... so my threads do not lack in that department.