Fixmyvw.com

Author Topic: 1.9 TD Starts, but won't run - Need help  (Read 3120 times)

June 04, 2013, 03:37:42 pm

Pawl

1.9 TD Starts, but won't run - Need help
« on: June 04, 2013, 03:37:42 pm »
My dad and I are finally trying to get our 1995 Jetta going after sitting for nearly 2 years untouched. It's been a mad rush since we were told we need to move it asap from the garage where its been sitting.

The motor cranks, catches immediately, then stops dead. Sometime it runs for about a whole second. I have done some reading and people talk about priming the pump, but I have no idea what is the in line or what is the out. Where do I connect the clear hoses? (and how?... Do I need a second set of banjo bolts?) Is there anything else we should look at?  I'm including two pictures so that you can draw up or point to if that's easier. I'll take whatever help I can get at this point since it needs to move very soon.

I am basically pretty new to this whole diesel thing as it has been a very long time since I last read or even thought about an IDI. I'm actually surprised my account here still works lol.

Reply #1June 04, 2013, 03:43:41 pm

burn_your_money

• Global Moderator
  • Veteran

• Personal Text
    Bright, On
Re: 1.9 TD Starts, but won't run - Need help
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2013, 03:43:41 pm »
Sounds like air in the fuel. Either keep cranking with your foot to the floor until it goes, have someone pull start it or prime the pump and then keep cranking.

If you choose to crank; 30 seconds on, 2 minutes off. Max. Any more and you'll cook your starter.

Do you see air bubbles in the clear fuel lines? The "in" is on the left side of the pump when you are looking at it from in front of the car.
Tyler

Reply #2June 04, 2013, 03:58:23 pm

Pawl

« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2013, 03:58:23 pm »
The left line is bubble-free but I did see air in the right line.

It catches and then dies immediately after. Should we keep cranking after it catches or will that cause damage?