Fixmyvw.com

Author Topic: does water and pure motor oil clog fuel filters?  (Read 4397 times)

April 03, 2013, 02:12:08 pm

damac

• Veteran

does water and pure motor oil clog fuel filters?
« on: April 03, 2013, 02:12:08 pm »
Long story short I'm having sudden issues in my 79 rabbit  with what looks to be restrictions/ pockets of air shooting from filter to pump inlet.  I have had good luck so far in my short 4 years experience with these old diesels.

I have no first hand experience with water and how it acts when passed through filter.  Does water clog the media, or does simply opening the drain allow you to get rid of what has built up?

Also a tankfull before my problem arose I ran out of fuel and dumped a gallon of oil in the car to get to my destination a few blocks away.  It sat all day and I filled up at the pump that night and the first 8 gallons used went find until the issue arose.

I can't troubleshoot the car until I get back into town thursday but I would like to know for future reference it those things can clog the filter?

Thanks!

1985 turbo diesel jetta

Reply #1April 03, 2013, 04:13:10 pm

burn_your_money

• Global Moderator
  • Veteran

• Personal Text
    Bright, On
Re: does water and pure motor oil clog fuel filters?
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2013, 04:13:10 pm »
What kind of oil?
Tyler

Reply #2April 03, 2013, 04:33:53 pm

theman53

• Global Moderator
  • Veteran

• Personal Text
    Holmes County Ohio - North Central Ohio
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2013, 04:33:53 pm »