S-PAutomotive.com

Author Topic: MK2 importance of proper tires observation/question on good all weather tires  (Read 2796 times)

March 20, 2012, 10:59:05 am

JBG3

• Junior

Maybe its because im so used to much heavier vehicles, but ive been totally amazed by how much affect the type of tire is having on the control of my 86 jetta, which I am dumping miles on since its fuel efficient. 

The car is so light that im finding it very hard to control if I don't have the correct type of tire for the driving I anticipate.  For example, I am an extremely experienced snow driver, but this last winter I already went flying into a ditch in this car because I didn't have 4 snow tires, only studded fronts.   I rectified that immediately, but that was the first snow accident ive ever had, despite snow fleet service driving for years and years (driving out to semi's in light 2wd pickups for emergencies)

Yesterday, I was passing through PA mountain country with my 4 snow tires on, and it was a suddenly warm day, and there was suddenly a very heavy rain, (front tires are studded), and I dam near went off the road again, so now I need to immediately get some all weather tires on the car and put the studded snows away for this year.

(I was trying to push it until my stock teardrop rims were fully refinished and I could put new rubber on them, another two weeks)

This is pretty much the first one of these VWs ive ever had that ran consistent, mostly I was in 2 ton MBs and trucks, so this responsiveness to the right rubber is pretty surprising to me.  Ive driven entire winters in heavy snow on 20% summer tires in heavier RWD cars with no problem, but with this thing, if its not correct, its hydroplaning or floating up on the snow so easily that its amazing.