Fixmyvw.com

Author Topic: 1.9L rebuild and upgrades  (Read 2426 times)

February 03, 2006, 03:01:56 pm

wyldman

• Authorized Vendor
  • Veteran

1.9L rebuild and upgrades
« on: February 03, 2006, 03:01:56 pm »
New guy here.Been lurking for a bit,and have been impressed by the knowledge and quality posts here,so I decided to join.Also noticed a lot of Ontario guys too,as I'm in Brampton,just Northwest of T.O.

Now for my question(s).

I'm not a deisel newbie,have driven and wrenched on them for ages (licensed mechanic,I run my own shop).Currently driving a well modded Cummins Turbo diesel pickup,and a 1.6L NA Golf.

I just picked up a clean 97 Jetta 1.9L IDI Turbo with some engine damage for $500.Have yanked the motor,and found one piston melted down.Block is being bored\decked,and will rebuild the bottom end with oversize pistons and all new bearings.Head will also be redone with all new valves,guides,ect,along with some porting and polishing,and a 3 angle valve job.TDI crank gear mod will be done as well.

Turbo is also lunched,it's a K03-003.Is that the same as a K14 ? Turbo is whatever came stock on this car.

With a good solid motor for the foundation,I'm now looking at upgrades to complete the package.I'm looking for good driveability,good low end power (with minimal smoke,some is OK),and some decent mid to top end.I won't be spinning any crazy RPM's,or I would have done a 1.6L instead.Mileage is semi imporatant too,and I don't want it smoking like crazy.

I was thinking of using GTD nozzles to start,as well as turing up the pump myself.This should net a fairly noticeable gain.It may be enough on it's own.Will use probably 2.5" exhaust with maybe one muffler to keep the noise down a bit.Future mods may include a tuned Giles pump,and maybe a cam if needed.

So my questions are........

Will just turning up the fuel,and doing the govenor mods going to give me a good enough increase ?