S-PAutomotive.com

Author Topic: suspension upgrade questions  (Read 5502 times)

February 06, 2010, 09:21:00 am

theman53

• Global Moderator
  • Veteran

• Personal Text
    Holmes County Ohio - North Central Ohio
suspension upgrade questions
« on: February 06, 2010, 09:21:00 am »
I am completely new to upgrading suspension. So I need to know what works and what doesn't. My goal is for it to last, handle better, and still give a good ride. I live in the country and the roads aren't the greatest, so lowering isn't an option...unless someone has a full bottom skid plate that attaches to an 86 Jetta for free. I definately am going to go with strut tower brace, but don't know who would make them or what is best out there.
I would love to hear from people that know or have done this to there cars as to what is best. Thanks Lucas ><>

Reply #1February 06, 2010, 07:31:52 pm

8v-of-fury

Re: suspension upgrade questions
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2010, 07:31:52 pm »
my gf's 90 has all brand new KYB gas struts with reused strut mounts.. Some rough roads up here from all the non maintanenced roads.. and heaving from winter freezing. Rides very well.

What kinda suspension you lookin in to Lucas?

Reply #2February 06, 2010, 08:28:48 pm

rallydiesel

• Veteran

« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2010, 08:28:48 pm »
Another very good one is Bilstein PSS9's. They're pricey though. But you get adjustable compression and rebound dampening and it's a very durable coilover.
2006 Jetta TDI - gtb1749v, Malone 2, Frank's Titan 2 cam, VR6 clutch....
1991 Jetta TD - sold :(
2001 Golf TDI - Son's
1981 Rabbit - BEW tdi swap project

"ONCE YOU GO CLACK, YOU NEVER GO BACK"

Reply #3February 07, 2010, 03:01:22 pm

theman53

• Global Moderator
  • Veteran

• Personal Text
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2010, 03:01:22 pm »