Fixmyvw.com

Author Topic: No, I'm not on crack! I'm fixing that derned cracked 11mm block....  (Read 17853 times)

December 07, 2009, 07:26:23 am

maxfax

• Veteran

SO it finally happened..  That 1.6 I've been nursing along with oil gushing into the coolant for darn near 2 years  burning WVO and WMO gave up..  Well not completely, the HG starting letting a bit of compression in the cooling system..  The dead giveaway aside from odd random overheating??   The coolant smelled like french fries!! 8)   So I have a new engine I have been slowly putting together, the smart thing to do here woudl be get my butt in gear, put it together, and install it..   But alas this poor 1.6 and I have been through alot together..  Good times they were, I'm not ready to say goodbye just yet..   

I know this has been touched upon here before but in theory there wasn;t any real good solutions.. I considered using brass in the cracks, but getting the block hot enough to draw it in wasn;t happening..  So the plan, V the cracks right to where the threads begin (about 1/16" from the deck of the block)..   Fill aforementioned v's with nickel welding rods..  The next step will be to grind the weld down ALMOST flush with the deck, finish with a hand file, sanding block, and fiber polisher. Dremmel excess weld from bolt holes and passages..   After that slather any missed pits with good ole JB weld and polish again..   I have also started to file a small V in the cracks running down inside the coolant passages with a small triangular file..  I plant to clean what I can and slather som JB in those..   Before installation I'll be chasing the bolt holes with a tap, cleaning the heck out of them with solvent and compressed air, and installing the head studs with some sort of thread sealer (suggestions welcome on what to use)..