Author Topic: hey everyone, im new here and just bought a diesel truck!  (Read 3782 times)

August 24, 2005, 11:39:18 am

Master ACiD

• Veteran

hey everyone, im new here and just bought a diesel truck!
« on: August 24, 2005, 11:39:18 am »
im mostly a mazda guy but sence mazda diesels are so hard to find and nearly impossible to find help with, espically parts for them, i thought i would give vw a try. with the rising gas prices buting a diesel rabbit truck will pay off within a year atleast, espically when alternative fueling! plus i have awalys wanted a diesel like my dads. he owns a restored rabbit truck with a turbo diesel engine conversion.

i am very new to vw diesels, although my dad has had them for probably 30 years so he is helping me out but somtimes i think his methods are not the best! they certainly work but he seems to be way over cautous about some mundaine things. such is a father sun relationship i guess.

i bought a rabbit pickup truck with 110,000 miles on it from a used car lot for $100. it didnt run so we brought it home and got it running. turned out to have a glow plug problem.  on my very first trip around the neighbor hood i broke the timing belt clean in half and we think i bent the valves. i put a new timing belt on and it runs so very very bad.
im breaking for lunch riht now but after this is over im going to finish pulling the head to see what damage was done. hopefully nothing is damaged too bad but my dad has a couple spare engines for parts so maybe we can put somthing together.
wish me luck.

Reply #1August 24, 2005, 12:19:09 pm

BlackTieTD

• Veteran

« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2005, 12:19:09 pm »
most likely toasted the valves  :(

sounds like you're on the right track, having someone who knows what they are doing with these engines/cars is a huge asset.

have fun!

Reply #2August 24, 2005, 01:46:51 pm

Master ACiD

• Veteran

« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2005, 01:46:51 pm »