Fixmyvw.com

Author Topic: Newbie with Bosch pump problem  (Read 2136 times)

February 20, 2009, 07:55:16 pm

DirtyDerv

Newbie with Bosch pump problem
« on: February 20, 2009, 07:55:16 pm »
Hi people, i'm a newbie here, so please go easy on me, this isn't for any of your pumps, but after loads of reading up things on here about tuning im sure we can agree the same principles apply.

I'm a self taught mechanic, work mostly on peugeots, and the 1.9dt's, i do bosch conversions from lucas, turbo conversions, fmic's and basic tuning.

A customer has had to leave his car with me, i've fitted him a bosch setup, it came from the dreaded ebay. Pump is on, timed up, and runs like a dream, however, after a lot of inspecting the pump, the maximum fuel screw has been adjusted, the boost compensator hasnt been touched but the throttle lever has been off...

As i say, the car will idle fine, and cold start will raise the rpm, moving the throttle has absoloutely no responce, doesnt rev, nor does it sound any different.

Am i right in saying i need to do this? (Had a massive search as a guest, when i registered i found this in one of your guides)

Next is the governor cover and governor shaft seal. The return springs on the shaft are very strong and a bugger to reset once released. You can avoid releasing the top spring by restraining it with a cable tie. Push the little lever under the accelerator arm left as far as it will go, then pull the cable tie tight. Look carefully at the top of the governor shaft, at the nut. There may be a small white line. If so, scribe a mark on the accelerator arm (the flat arm, not the spring cup) to match the line on the shaft. If there is no shaft line, scribe your own line on both the shaft and the arm to assure proper alignment on reassembly. I did not know that there was no positive alignment index between the shaft and the arm and had to realign it by trial and error … mostly error.