S-PAutomotive.com

Author Topic: 1.9 TD Questions  (Read 2099 times)

November 12, 2008, 11:07:14 pm

DonkeyWorx

• User+

1.9 TD Questions
« on: November 12, 2008, 11:07:14 pm »
Please bear with me on this - I am quite new to the VW Diesel scene and have done tons of searching and research on here already.

My Motor: AAZ 1.9TD IDI

Question: With the injection pump out on the bench, should I be able to spin the IP Shaft freely, or with a little resistance? or... Should it take a wrench on the nut to spin it? Meaning, how hard should it spin?

Question: When you put an injection pump back in, there is a key that goes into the pump pulley to line it up and keep it secure - Can a person get the pump itself 180 degrees off in some manner, or do you just line up the key to the pulley? (Pulley is locked in place right now.)

Thanks for your time,

Reply #1November 12, 2008, 11:51:01 pm

96jetta

1.9 TD Questions
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2008, 11:51:01 pm »
if the pin is in the [ump and the motor id at TDC i would think it should be ok.

Reply #2November 13, 2008, 12:04:11 am

zukgod1

• Veteran

Re: 1.9 TD Questions
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2008, 12:04:11 am »
Quote from: "DonkeyWorx"
Please bear with me on this - I am quite new to the VW Diesel scene and have done tons of searching and research on here already.

My Motor: AAZ 1.9TD IDI

Question: With the injection pump out on the bench, should I be able to spin the IP Shaft freely, or with a little resistance? or... Should it take a wrench on the nut to spin it? Meaning, how hard should it spin?

Question: When you put an injection pump back in, there is a key that goes into the pump pulley to line it up and keep it secure - Can a person get the pump itself 180 degrees off in some manner, or do you just line up the key to the pulley? (Pulley is locked in place right now.)

Thanks for your time,

It will take a wrench, you can turn it over with the sprocket on by hand though.