Author Topic: 86 golf diesel, hard to start, no power  (Read 4438 times)

May 05, 2008, 03:39:35 pm

malkuth23

• http://www.shuteyephotography.com
86 golf diesel, hard to start, no power
« on: May 05, 2008, 03:39:35 pm »
I bought an 86 golf 5spd non-turbo.  It has been hard to start, but ran fine once it got going.  I recently replaced all the glow plugs and the fuel filter...  Afterwards it is nearly impossible to start and if I manage to get it going it has almost no power.

I bled the fuel lines, the glow plugs are working... what is my next step?  could I have messed up something with the glowplugs so I am not getting the correct compression?  I went to buy a compression test kit, but I am not sure what size adapter I need.

I am new to diesels in general, any help is greatly appreciated.

thanks,
matt

Reply #1May 05, 2008, 09:33:55 pm

burn_your_money

• Global Moderator
  • Veteran

• Personal Text
    Bright, On
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2008, 09:33:55 pm »
How tight did you put the glow plugs in? if it is too tight they will fail prematurely.

How did you check that they are working?
Tyler

Reply #2May 05, 2008, 10:12:19 pm

malkuth23

• http://www.shuteyephotography.com
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2008, 10:12:19 pm »
I fired the glowplugs up several times in a row and the engine block where the glow plugs enter became warmer... also the dome light dims when the glow plug light is on...

perhaps not the most exact way, but I am not sure how else to do it.

once the car is started would bad glow plugs make it run poorly? Or are they just used for startup?

I noticed today the drive belt feels loose.  That is the next thing I will work on tomorrow.  Not sure if that could cause this problem...