S-PAutomotive.com

Author Topic: Quick question on IP timing procedure  (Read 3194 times)

February 06, 2008, 11:18:24 am

95gltd

Quick question on IP timing procedure
« on: February 06, 2008, 11:18:24 am »
I'm trying to set my timing with a guage in inches.

I start at tdc insert the guage preloaded to .300 inch. Turned the engine counter clockwise untill it stops moving. I zero out the guage by turning the face to 0.  Start going clockwise twoards tdc but way before i get there the big needle makes a complete turn clockwise(which would be more than double too much right) then the needle starts moving counterclockwise before i hit tdc. Is this normal? should i just keep turning clockwise untill tdc then note the timing on the guage? It seems odd that the little movement it took from tdc to find the lowest part of the pump stroke was not very far.

I'm new at this but to get .95mm timing it should be .037 of an inch which would require the needle moving from zero up to 30 on the guage then 7 more small notches for .037 right?

Question: once zeroed out and turning the engine to tdc should it take all this movement for the needle on the idicator to go from zero to what the timing is? as when i did it the needle went from 0 all the way around and then started going backwards and i hadn't got to TDC yet.

I know the timing is way retarded as it would hardly run before i adjusted. Yet the guage does this.

I had the pump rebuilt and new injectors. Set the timing by ear as i didn't have the guage. Set it just ahead of the point where it idles smooth. Did 650km on 49L of diesel in -20 C with about 1.5 hours idling. Now i have the tool and am trying to set it right.

In the end i had to just set it by ear while the engine was running to just be able to drive it.

Thanks

Reply #1February 06, 2008, 02:35:53 pm

Quantum TD

• Veteran

« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2008, 02:35:53 pm »