Author Topic: newbie to the diesel  (Read 3492 times)

March 17, 2005, 05:55:25 pm

busparts

newbie to the diesel
« on: March 17, 2005, 05:55:25 pm »
I have always  ran gas from air to water. But I work with a guy who's dad has a diesal rabbit and truck in the early 80's. He is looking to sell them.

First things first what should I be looking for in the diesel motors? what kind of motors do they have in them?
What can I do to the motors to make them better and give them more HP without putting a turbo on them?
Is there any aftermarket MTR parts that I can get for them and where do I get it?

Thanks

Reply #1March 17, 2005, 09:02:36 pm

fillmore

• Junior

• http://fillmorenorthband.tripod.com
newbie to the diesel
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2005, 09:02:36 pm »
hey im fairly new to the diesel engines aswell. diesels do not have spark plugs, instead they have glow plugs and the motors have high compression which is why there is no need for the spark. diesel motors are heavy duty and will outlast most gas engines. i have witnessed a late 80's jetta roll over 1 million and my dads jetta has 550 thousand kms with all origonal engine and runs like a champ. as far as performence goes when you start adding turbos it reduces the engines life but i dont really know much in the line of diesel performence beides usual stuff like better fuel injection and better air intake. but pre 1990 vw's were made in germeny and are the strongest vw moters ever built, nowadays vw makes their cars in mexico when the labour is dirt cheap and the quality just isnt there. (dont mean to offend anyone)

Reply #2March 20, 2005, 01:08:08 am

chrissev

• Veteran

Re: newbie to the diesel
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2005, 01:08:08 am »
First things first what should I be looking for in the diesel motors? what kind of motors do they have in them?