S-PAutomotive.com

Author Topic: 1985 Golf Diesel  (Read 3940 times)

April 18, 2005, 11:18:03 pm

GolfmkII

1985 Golf Diesel
« on: April 18, 2005, 11:18:03 pm »
Hi all, I am new to VW Diesels...
I have access to a 1985 Golf Diesel two door car.  It needs the engine replaced with a rebuild.  The person with the car also has a rebuilt block ready to go in.  The car has been sitting in a garage for 10 years...

I was wondering first of all, what engine should be in the car ie. 1.6 1.6 turbo?? Also is there a way to tell by serial number on the block of the rebuilt engine that it is indeed the same type of diesel that the car is.

Another thing I want to know is what should I get put in while having the engine swapped, I am getting a clutch kit, and I was thinking a timing belt. Anything else I should have installed while engine is apart?

Thank you in advance

-Tim

Reply #1April 19, 2005, 11:04:23 am

chrissev

• Veteran

Re: 1985 Golf Diesel
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2005, 11:04:23 am »
Quote from: "GolfmkII"
Hi all, I am new to VW Diesels...
I have access to a 1985 Golf Diesel two door car.  It needs the engine replaced with a rebuild.  The person with the car also has a rebuilt block ready to go in.  The car has been sitting in a garage for 10 years...

I was wondering first of all, what engine should be in the car ie. 1.6 1.6 turbo?? Also is there a way to tell by serial number on the block of the rebuilt engine that it is indeed the same type of diesel that the car is.

Another thing I want to know is what should I get put in while having the engine swapped, I am getting a clutch kit, and I was thinking a timing belt. Anything else I should have installed while engine is apart?

Thank you in advance

Replace:  timing belt tensioner.  If you've got the original head, might want to adjust the valves.