Engine Specific Info and Questions > mTDI Mechanical TDI Conversions

Another M-tdi question <sorrrry>

(1/10) > >>

scottyroccodiesel:
well I have been reading up on this like crazy... from the FAQ thread to everything i can find on here , tdiclub, and vortex(not much of anything there especially brain power).  
I have a tdi engine and pump, I am planning on getting a 1.6 td pump for the mechanical pump.

I am a college student and my funds are, well lets say limited.... My engine came from my moms wrecked tdi so that cost free :) , my first car was a 16v scirocco and I just bought a damn clean one for $200 !!!!! and it has a sunroof!!!!
soo I am pretty electronically declined and have nightmares about swapping over all the tdi electronics.  my dad recommended do a mechanical injection pump.

for my dads prject he sent his td pump into giles but there is noooo wayyy I could spend 900 just to have the pump reworked. so I decided I wanted to do a franken pump with the tdi and a td pump.  I can get a td pump for 150 and I already have the tdi pump so I thought his would be the cheapest easiest way to go.  

so to my main question making the franken pump??..... this is a quote from the FAQ  "swapping in the pump head, plunger and camplate from a TDI pump"  ok so I want to know is this as easy as it sounds ???? would I have to retime the pump???
I would love for someone to give me a step by step on this and maybe some pics if anyone has them?
Is there any mods I can or should do to the pump when I am done?

scottyroccodiesel:
heres my rocco http://forums.vwvortex.com/zerothread?id=3601326

I know lots of people have looked at this but does no one know the answer? or is everyone just hiding it?

Justin:
that is what I originally tried and it ran for a while, but you really need the special tools to check the spacing. Mine after a short while (a day or two of tuning it) wouldnt start and when it did it wouldnt come down below like 1500 rpm.