Fixmyvw.com

Author Topic: TDI boost problem, please help...  (Read 5255 times)

February 02, 2006, 04:41:15 am

shox75

• Junior

TDI boost problem, please help...
« on: February 02, 2006, 04:41:15 am »
just test drove a 91 Passat with a 00 TDI engine swap today, and it performed very well, however a problem kicks in. I'm new to TDI's, but very familliar with mechanical IDI's and how a turbo should work, i drive one.
At about 2500rpm when i was in 3rd gear 1/4 up a hill all of sudden the engine loses all turbo boost and can barely make the hill going 40kph. Then after slowing a couple of times the engine never regained the turbo. Until i shut the car off and restarted it. Then everything normal till i tryed the hill again, and same thing happens. It seems like something is blowing off the pressure of the turbo and not reseting till the engine is shut off and turned on again. Mechanically everything looked fine. Do these cars have an electronic wastegate that could be malfunctioning? Or is there some sort of safety poppet valve on the intake like IdI's?
I'm sure the turbo is functioning good, you can hear it spool up and the car has very good power, prior to the problem kicking in. For some reason it can't maintain high boost for more then i'm guessing 5-10 sec.

Anybody can help, it owuld be much appreciated. thanks, Sabi.

Sabi Szilagyi
'90 Jetta TD

Reply #1February 02, 2006, 01:59:34 pm

zyewdall

• Veteran

« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2006, 01:59:34 pm »
Hmmmm.  Do you have a boost gauge, or does it just feel like the turbo is giving out?  Is it possible that the computer isn't giving it fuel because it doesn't think there is boost, even though there is?  Any check engine light or codes?
'84 Mitsubishi 4x4 2.3L turbo biodiesel pickup
'91 VW Rabbit GTI with 1.6 biodiesel transplant
'81 Toyota longbed 2wd 2.2NA biodiesel pickup (for sale)
'89 Subaru 4x4 touring wagon
 '82 subaru 4x4 TDI wagon -- project on hold
1976 Ford Sasquatch pickup