S-PAutomotive.com

Author Topic: Golf MK4 Head replacement...how?  (Read 3303 times)

October 14, 2009, 02:26:08 am

Torchd

• Veteran

Golf MK4 Head replacement...how?
« on: October 14, 2009, 02:26:08 am »
Hey guys..

I've got a 2003 mk4 1.9 TDI PD 150 bhp, I have not been careful with the oil in my car so my camshaft has given up. I am in Pakistan and this is prolly the only car i have seen here... I've also had a 1.6TD mkII and a 1.9TD MkIII so I have plenty of experience with those older engines but I have never worked on the PD. Now I have a complete good used head and I want to replace the whole head instead of just the came shaft.

I would really appreciate if one of you can direct me on head replacment.
I have the following questions in mind..

1. Do I need any special tools? What type/size are the head bolts?
2. How do I set the timings... cam? crank? and pump(if any) and where are the timing marks?
3. I dont what to use synthetic oil.. which mineral oil is suitable for this engine?
4. Any other thing I should watch out for while Im at it?

Have always appreciated the help from this forum!

Reply #1October 15, 2009, 04:16:24 pm

Powered by Spearco

• Veteran

Re: Golf MK4 Head replacement...how?
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2009, 04:16:24 pm »
I think that the PD engines are the easyest to do a timing belt to, due to the belt design and the lack of a pump on the belt.
I've never R&R'ed a cylinderhead on a PD, but many belts. There is a couple of special tools needed to do the engine/cam timing.
A tool to lock the crank and a pin to lock the cam. The crank sprocket is eliptical and does require locking and the cam only needs to be locked with a pin at TDC.
As far as the head R&R, you sould really try to get the Bentley for ref.
Depending how far you disasembled the engine now, try to leave the EGR cooler and related B.S. alone to save $ on gaskets.