S-PAutomotive.com

Author Topic: Putting the Rabbit to bed for Winter.. a few ??s :)  (Read 4591 times)

September 26, 2005, 10:39:26 pm

VW Scully

• Junior

• Not Quite Tom Riddle's Diary
Putting the Rabbit to bed for Winter.. a few ??s :)
« on: September 26, 2005, 10:39:26 pm »
Hey everyone;
I am going to store the Rabbit this Winter and since I've never done it before; what are some tips to keep my car in good shape while she sleeps away the freezing days? (like I wish I could ;)).
Anyway...help?? :D

Tara aka VW Scully
**1981 Rabbit Diesel L, Biodiesel driven: 'the Bio-Bunny' **
Advocate for Young Adult Cancer Research & Support: I'm too Young for This!!
http://www.i2y.com
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Reply #1September 26, 2005, 11:32:20 pm

vwmike

• Authorized Vendor
  • Veteran

« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2005, 11:32:20 pm »
You might want to add some fuel conditioner and move the car once in a while so the tires don't flat spot. That's about all I can think of but I'm sure others will have more suggestions.

Reply #2September 27, 2005, 03:33:49 pm

BlackTieTD

• Veteran

« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2005, 03:33:49 pm »
good advice there.
you could put it up on blocks if you are worried about flat spots. this will also unload the suspension.
don't leave the e-brake on.
if rodents are an issue, make an effort to put out traps or something.
try to park in the driest spot you can find.
make sure you have enough anti-freeze in the system.
i'd try to have the fuel tank completely full.
disconnect the battery and keep it in your house or something. don't leave it on concrete.
:)

Reply #3September 27, 2005, 03:37:38 pm

zyewdall

• Veteran

« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2005, 03:37:38 pm »
Disconnect the battery (or take it inside and leave it on a maintenance charger).  Or alternatively, put a small PV module on the roof or in the windshield, and hook it up to the battery.