Author Topic: Yes, another "my car won't start!"  (Read 6976 times)

November 28, 2014, 02:34:02 am

Hdriven

• User+

• Personal Text
    :/
Yes, another "my car won't start!"
« on: November 28, 2014, 02:34:02 am »
Hello everyone. I've been working on my 1981 vw rabbit diesel for about 4 months now. I have finished painting it (inside and outside). I swapped out the front square headlights to nice round headlights. I have rebuilt the engine and put it all back together.  All thanks to the this forum. Every time I've had a question the search function saved the day but not anymore.
So, here's my problem. After rebuilding the engine and putting it all together I primed the pump and all that good stuff and as soon as I cranck it it came to life!  It was awesome.  I didn't drive it because I needed to take care of some things first. A day later I see diesel coming on the floor. It was leaking from the input shaft seal. I replaced it today and retimed it. I have a hand pump in line before the injection pump which I used to get all the air out.  So now I went to start it and I get nothing but cranking, some smoke and some sputtering. I cracked the lines at the injectors in case there was air and tried starting it again to no avail. 
One observation I had was that with fuel lines cracked the cranking rpms were really low.  Once I tightened down the fuel lines it began cranking fast again which leads me to believe that it is getting fuel and is trying to start. 
So, my car won't start any ideas?  I hope to get it started soon so I can drive it, I have never driven the damn thing! Lol.

Thanks guys. 

Reply #1November 28, 2014, 07:25:02 am

TylerDurden

• Veteran

• Personal Text
    I have a VW problem.
Re: Yes, another "my car won't start!"
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2014, 07:25:02 am »
I'd verify there is no air in the pump using clear lines in and out of the IP . Then I'd recheck the timing to make sure it's correct.

Reply #2November 28, 2014, 09:11:37 am

srgtlord