VWDiesel.net The IDI, TDI, and mTDI source.

General Information => General => Topic started by: fatboi on December 04, 2008, 08:07:26 am

Title: shady site?
Post by: fatboi on December 04, 2008, 08:07:26 am
i've been on the hunt for a new ip for my ol 1.6 and stumbled upon this site (http://www.dieselvw.com/) and they seem to have stuff cheap....almost too cheap, and i was wondering if any of you had any experience these guys.
Title: shady site?
Post by: TD_Bunny on December 04, 2008, 08:42:45 am
someone can correct me if i am wrong but i think this is one of the Prothe sites. he has several different sites and i think, for the most part, it is a legit dealing. Someone else can chime in though.
Title: Re: shady site?
Post by: zukgod1 on December 04, 2008, 08:59:49 am
Quote from: "fatboi"
i've been on the hunt for a new ip for my ol 1.6 and stumbled upon this site (http://www.dieselvw.com/) and they seem to have stuff cheap....almost too cheap, and i was wondering if any of you had any experience these guys.


Good depending on what you are buying I think.

I've had good luck with his stuff but there are some items I wouldnt use.
Title: shady site?
Post by: jtanguay on December 04, 2008, 11:16:48 am
i've had good results with his injectors... over 5000km's so far.  i'm a bit skeptical about using the mercedes nozzle injectors in our VW engines though... due to the difference in pre-combustion chamber design. they sure flow a hell of a lot more fuel though!
Title: shady site?
Post by: Smokey Eddy on December 04, 2008, 01:20:04 pm
I bought an aaz head and valves (and so on) from him and all my gauges. Shipping takes a long time, sometimes items are missed but for the price im not complaining.
Again, there are some items i would avoid if you're going for a performance build but, i'm a big believer in VW's are cheap to run so i'd go nuts. Just make sure you are getting what you asked for.
Title: shady site?
Post by: rallydiesel on December 04, 2008, 02:40:56 pm
I wouldn't buy a rebuilt pump from him but I'd buy just about anything else unless I was going doing a very high performance engine build and needed high quality parts.
Title: shady site?
Post by: fatboi on December 05, 2008, 07:06:03 am
thanks for all the input everybody. i was actually looking at getting a pump from this guy but mabey i'll just go witht the tools and tbelt, and get the pump from a good reputible source. it's too bad too the price was nice but i'd rather drop a few extra bucks and have it last a while.
Title: shady site?
Post by: vanbcguy on December 05, 2008, 09:03:09 am
I have some Prothe injectors in my car - I can't say I'm terribly impressed with the build quality (looking at one of them the nozzle isn't centered inside the housing) but they definitely smoothed my engine out, meaning the pop pressures are all pretty close.  I do have a little light knocking occasionally with these injectors that wasn't there with my old ones though.

If I was buying a set of injectors for an older car that I wasn't planning on keeping forever I wouldn't hesitate to go with these.  If I was buying injectors for a freshly built motor that I'd put a lot of time in to I think I'd find some Bosch remans instead.
Title: shady site?
Post by: burn_your_money on December 05, 2008, 09:56:32 am
Have a look in the feedback section, Prothe has a "rocky" history on the boards
Title: shady site?
Post by: burn_your_money on December 09, 2008, 10:14:26 am
Quote from: "fatboi"
tmabey i'll just go witht the tools and tbelt,


I'd buy a pump from him over a timing belt any day. At least when a pump breaks it won't take out the rest of your motor
Title: shady site?
Post by: zukgod1 on December 09, 2008, 10:49:24 am
Quote from: "burn_your_money"
Quote from: "fatboi"
tmabey i'll just go witht the tools and tbelt,


I'd buy a pump from him over a timing belt any day. At least when a pump breaks it won't take out the rest of your motor


I agree, I bought a tensioner and belt when I first built my engine (naive) ran it for 15k before I switched out both due to driving nervous.
I have no reason other than I just felt better with a genuine Conti belt on there, both looked fine when removed.
Title: shady site?
Post by: jtanguay on December 09, 2008, 12:36:01 pm
i've heard of too many people having issues with those cheap timing belts and tensioners.  its mostly the cheap tensioners though... the belt itself would probably last... but is it worth the risk???