Author Topic: 1.6 TD LDA vent leak  (Read 1242 times)

July 16, 2022, 06:40:41 pm

tbro

• User+

1.6 TD LDA vent leak
« on: July 16, 2022, 06:40:41 pm »
Have a new issue with my 1984 1.6 td pump in my caddy.  I have replaced o ring seals with the bosch 126 kit before on NA pumps but never messed with one with the "space ship".  I began getting a leak out the vent boot which is below the boost pressure nipple at the rear.  Does this mean a torn diaphragm in the LDA (aneroid) or is it an O ring fix.  I hate to mess with the torx set screw and nut in the top cover as the engine runs sweet at current setting.  What is the best way to approach this leak? By taking off the top cover will I be able to get to the O ring or diaphragm if that is the culprit.  I have limited experience on the TD pump innards VS the NA pump.. Any insight is appreciated.  Thank you in advance, Tom

Reply #1July 17, 2022, 01:21:36 am

fatmobile

• Veteran

• http://www.geocities.com/vwfatmobile/
Re: 1.6 TD LDA vent leak
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2022, 01:21:36 am »
The DGK-121 has the o-ring you need but your local bosch shop can usually get any o-ring or seal separately.
If I remember right the DGK-121 includes a 19mm mainshaft seal for a cummins pump,
something you don't need and don't want to pay for.

You can pull the top off and fix it.
 It's an o-ring around the shaft that goes between the lever inside the pump and the LDA.
 It slides in and out, through the o-ring.

Wondering if your LDA (spaceship) has the bolt heads on the sides
or if removing the pivot pin for the lever requires you to punch in the sealing bearings.
Got a picture?

Tornado red, '91 Golf 4 door,
with a re-ringed, '84 quantum, turbo diesel, MD block

Reply #2July 17, 2022, 03:02:52 pm

tbro

• User+

« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2022, 03:02:52 pm »