Fixmyvw.com

Author Topic: Aaz build  (Read 5063 times)

March 05, 2019, 11:00:15 pm

VolksWagr

Aaz build
« on: March 05, 2019, 11:00:15 pm »
Hi everyone, to start off my name is Nathan and I am from southern Ontario, Canada. I am new here and relatively new to diesel modifications. I have lots of experience with turbo gassers (newer cars) but not a whole lot in this realm.  I am currently prepping my 81 rabbit diesel for an aaz swap. I have the aaz on the engine stand and am starting to dismantle to build it up.  The engine ran great when I pulled it and pulled strong.

I am aiming for 180hp and around 300 ft/lbs.  I am trying to get the engine ready to try and hit these numbers, and hopefully be reliable on this power.

I have been searching forums and online just trying to gather information on what is needed to run good power out of my aaz.

I have a k24 turbo off a 1.6td and have arp head studs I am getting ready to put in.

I am wondering what other engine mods I should be looking at for consistant and safe power.

I will be sending my pump and injectors to giles once the engine is prepped.  I also plan on changing the crank notch. And installing a front mount IC. 

What I am wondering is, i have read of people changing the valve cover, and Intake manifold.  I was planning on using a dremel on my stock aaz manifold to help increase flow.  Unsure if this is worth while or to just find a pd130 or pd150 I take manifold (If I remember correctly and read properly it should bolt on, correct me please if I am wrong)

I have also been attempting to find a block girdle, with no luck to date.  I want safe consistent power.  Should I also look at doing rods?
Aswell I have read something briefly about something about the #3 cap being an issue? Could someone please help clarify what this is referring to?  And if it is something I should be concerned about is there a fix/what would be the best approach?