S-PAutomotive.com

Author Topic: Brakes wits end  (Read 2644 times)

May 01, 2018, 09:28:33 pm

TBrooksy

Brakes wits end
« on: May 01, 2018, 09:28:33 pm »
G'day all,

I'm new to car stuff and I'm learning as I go, so please forgive me and bear with me as I'm quite stuck.
I have a barn find 86 Golf that I'm at my wits' end about the brake system. Here's the run down

the 1.6 n/a engine was rebuilt 100,000 km ago with components from an 87; when purchased the brakes were quite spongey.

I replaced the master cylinder, bled lines at master and at the calipers with new brake fluid, and the brakes immeadiately showed improvement.

However, I started to experiance smoking brakes and brake drag. Rolling smoke off the front brakes! wheels hot to the touch!

Upon review from a licensed mechanic he said the brakes were seized, he free/cleaned everything up, and recommended I replace cracked flexible lines.

Flex lines and fittings were replaced. no change in brake drag.

Replaced calipers, rotors, and pads with new parts. bled lines again. brake drag persists.

I dismanteled the master cylinder to inspect it; it functions well, is clean and shiny.

I flashed a light inside the vaccuum brake booster to check its condition, it's corrosion free and functions well.

It appears that the brake booster is linked to some sort of vaccuum pump and check valve at the front of the engine. Is that normal??

Could this problem lead back to a failing vaccuum pump? could the vaccuum pump from an 87 have more pressure than that of an 86? Could the brake fluid reseviour cap somehow impead brake disengagement? could I have a faulty master?

I have attached a couple photos showing the location of the vaccuum pump and wear on the new rotors. I'm lost and loosing hair. If there's anyone out there who might be able to shine a light of hope my way please do. Thanks in advance,

-Brooksy

Reply #1May 01, 2018, 10:53:07 pm

ORCoaster

• Veteran

• Personal Text