S-PAutomotive.com

Author Topic: White smoke and rough idle still occurs after timing - what next?  (Read 3382 times)

August 11, 2017, 07:38:25 pm

Kameron

my 79' rabbit runs and drives(poorly I might add), but puts out white smoke and stumble over itself while idling. I assumed this was just a injection pump issue but after checking timing across the board and adjusting the IP the car runs a bit better but white smoke still persists and idle still sounds off and rough. Although, when I pull the advance lever the idle evens out a bit and sounds more like a diesel should.

I am new to diesels but have done plenty of research and have some ideas of what this might be but figured I would get some help from some more experienced diesels guys to help me diagnose this as quickly as possible! If it would help I can get a video of the car starting and running to give more insight to the issue. Thanks in advance!

Reply #1August 11, 2017, 09:04:02 pm

vanbcguy

• Administrator
  • Veteran

• Personal Text
    Vancouver, BC
Re: White smoke and rough idle still occurs after timing - what next?
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2017, 09:04:02 pm »
Advance it a bit and see how it behaves - book numbers are really only good for fresh parts. If the advance lever clears things up it needs more static timing.

Sent from my LG-H873 using Tapatalk

Bryn

1994 Jetta - AHU M-TDI - Jezebel Jetta
2004 Jetta Wagon - 1.8T - Blitzen

Reply #2August 11, 2017, 09:51:37 pm

Kameron

« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2017, 09:51:37 pm »
Okay I will give that a try. Are you able to advance your pump at any given time or do you have to go through the TDC timing procedure with the gauge? Because if I can I would like to just be able to make some adjustments on the fly and see how the motor behaves without having to go through the whole process.

Reply #3August 11, 2017, 11:38:47 pm

ORCoaster

• Veteran

• Personal Text
    Restoring a Caddy as time and weather allows