Fixmyvw.com

Author Topic: I bought a 1982 VW Rabbit 1.6L DIESEL PICKUP. complete newcomer to VW, diesels,  (Read 5177 times)

February 27, 2017, 03:28:25 pm

wally

• Pictures of my 1982 VW Rabbit Pick-up 1.6L D w/5spd Man Flickr
Hello All.
I bought a 1982 VW Rabbit Pickup 1.6L Diesel w/ 5 spd Manual.
1st of all- is this the proper forum? Is this vehicle considered MK1 and how common is the term Caddy to describe this vehicle?
I am new to VW, Diesel, and project vehicles. I am doing all the repairs myself. I have done minor repairs on my previous vehicles so I know a few things.
It as 260K. It was parked for the previous 4 years.
Some of what I have done-
replaced all tires
replaced fuel and oil filters and did an oil change
replaced cracked fuel line from filter to Fuel Injector pump
replaced leaky fuel lines on return ports- still some leaking around 1 or 2
replaced wiper motor
replaced washer motor and reservoir
replaced Alternator belt
replaced fuses
Also, Oil light is on but the oil pressure gauge mounted near my knee shows good oil pressure.
defrost fan wiring is shot and the fan may be bad too.
other wires and connections loose or broke off
2 inner cv boots bad
2 steering rack boots bad.
It took 5-10 minutes to start and stay running and smoked a lot for several minutes so I bought 4 new glow plugs. in the process of checking for current going to glow plugs I found the main wire coming into the first glow plug wiggled and was very loose. After tightening it, the pickup starts right away now with a little smoke and stays running.
I am in Minnesota and running #1 Diesel in it.  I drove it out of town this past weekend and put about 350( almost all highway)  miles  on it but I am only averaging 30 Mpg.
Is the poor mileage related to the injectors?
Any suggestions on what I need to fix/clean/replace now?
Thanks

Reply #1February 27, 2017, 05:00:39 pm

TylerDurden

• Veteran

• Personal Text
    I have a VW problem.
Yep, MK1.
Yep, Caddy.