Model Specific Questions and Info > All Other VW Diesels

VW T3 1.6TD JX - tuning up and maintaining

(1/3) > >>

epowell:
I posted here a few months ago requesting advice on how to adjust the injection pump timing on a Vanagon 1.6 TD JX engine...    ...since then, between a couple of long trips away from my van, I managed to get a start on this work with a lot of help from the guys at The Samba, in particular Andrew Libby. The problem however, at The Samba is that few people over there have Diesels, so I have decided to document my work over here.

I am a complete newby to this kind of work, so if anyone can offer any comments or advice (even seemingly obvious stuff) I would very much appreciate it.

The initial GOALS:
- change timing belt (TB) / tensioner
- adjust valve lash
- change cam seal
- change waterpump
- adjust injection pump (IP) timing
- adjust TB tracking
- adjust aux. belts tracking
- flush, refill, bleed coolant system

The WORK:

this is my van "GEorge" :)

this is my engine

this is the wierd place for the air filter

these are the anti-vibe clips I made (super-glued and marred the threads)

epowell:
this is the TB before removal - notice how the belt is tracking to the outside.

aux. belts before removal...  they are also not tracking well - I would like to get the pulleys aligned much better.

removing crank pulley

crank pulley off

special helper making sure everything's ok :)

alternator is out, now removing brackets

waterpump exposed

waterpump is out

waterpump

vanbcguy:
Looking good! Appears someone used a bunch of RTV on the pump for some reason.... Eewwwww.....

Sent from my XT1097 using Tapatalk

epowell:

--- Quote from: vanbcguy on February 02, 2016, 02:24:40 pm ---Looking good! Appears someone used a bunch of RTV on the pump for some reason.... Eewwwww.....

Sent from my XT1097 using Tapatalk

--- End quote ---

I now have the waterpump apart - and am still undecided if I will: