S-PAutomotive.com

Author Topic: please help!! possible head gasket gone- aaz  (Read 3817 times)

September 27, 2015, 03:43:58 pm

benmeek94

please help!! possible head gasket gone- aaz
« on: September 27, 2015, 03:43:58 pm »
hi guys, recently brought a bargain mk3 golf with the 1.9td aaz engine. it only has 83,000 with full vw service history up till 15,000 miles ago, the first owner served it every year even when one year he only done 1,500 miles. it runs a dream so I was very happy with my purchase, my coolant light kept flashing so I checked it and it was topped up with nice clean anti-freeze. sensor went on and off so I put it down to a faulty sensor.

done a nice long 2 hour trip in it and when I got home I thought il check the coolant level one last time, although this time it had abit of oil in it, I am a DIY mechanic and mostly know what im talking about. I knew straight away this is a sign of a head gasket gone. I checked the oil filler cap and no creaminess... no white smoke when it was running either.

I had a quick look online and people said it could also be the oil cooler, so today I have drained the oil and there is 100% no water into the block, it was nice and black. just seems to be the other way around, oil getting into the coolant but again not a lot as I also drained the coolant today and I would say 95% was antifreeze. I have taken all the coolant pipes off and flushed the system through. in most of the pipes is a very thick black gunge, which looks and feels more like grease then oil.