S-PAutomotive.com

Author Topic: 88 Cabby 1.8l JH to 1.6l ME... Pre-Swap Notes Check  (Read 2596 times)

March 29, 2015, 12:33:24 pm

VWdieseljunkie

88 Cabby 1.8l JH to 1.6l ME... Pre-Swap Notes Check
« on: March 29, 2015, 12:33:24 pm »
I've been playing with this little Cabby off and on for a few years, and finally got it running well enough to get some local DD time on it.  It's a fun little car to zip around town in and cruise the beach with.  Unfortunately, there simply aren't any more parts donors in the local yards since the price of auto scrap went up after Katrina.  Motor needs to be pulled and at minimum have all the seals/gaskets done or else I can't drive it to work anymore.  Base Environazis lose their minds when my Cabby marks its territory.  If it has to come out, might as well replace it with something I'd enjoy more, like the "strong" 1.6l Nasty Asthmatic from my New England Cancer 86 Coupe.

Plus, I really hate the smell of gasoline.   :P

So all things considered, here's what power searching with my good-buddy Google (site:vwdiesel & site:vwvortex) has led me to believe.  Just looking for a once-over to make sure I'm not missing the obvious... Keeping in mind that I'm keeping every possible Cabby part under the hood that I can get away with.

1. Keeping the ACD 020 trans in the Cabby.  My ACH has a blown reverse, and I'm not up for busting open the case to rebuild at this point.  Keeping the ACD allows me to maintain existing flanges, axles, shift linkage, reverse light switch, speedo gear, & d-side mount, the trade-off being less than stellar gearing that I'll have to find a happy-medium via tire size to suite my driving habits.

2. Keeping gasser PP, clutch & flywheel, remembering to transfer mark for TDC.  This also gives me a lighter flywheel that should give a potentially faster throttle response and a compression-braking effect due to lack of rotating mass.  Sounds like stop-n-go fun to me.