S-PAutomotive.com

Author Topic: Where do I start when upgrading my 2004 tdi Jetta.  (Read 5451 times)

March 06, 2015, 05:42:25 am

Eastcoasterlocal56

Where do I start when upgrading my 2004 tdi Jetta.
« on: March 06, 2015, 05:42:25 am »
I'm new to owning a 2004 tdi Jetta. I'm looking for input on upgrades. Where to start is my problem. ECU upgrade,exhaust and cold air intake are my first steps but after that I'm lost.

Reply #1March 06, 2015, 08:44:07 am

theman53

• Global Moderator
  • Veteran

• Personal Text
    Holmes County Ohio - North Central Ohio
Re: Where do I start when upgrading my 2004 tdi Jetta.
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2015, 08:44:07 am »
If you have an 01M trans the next step would be doing a manual swap.

If you are a real mechanic and not a plug and play guy rip the head off and port it.

Reply #2March 06, 2015, 10:34:44 am

burn_your_money

• Global Moderator
  • Veteran

• Personal Text
    Bright, On
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2015, 10:34:44 am »
The first step is maintenance. Make sure everything is caught up and in proper working order.

Next, you need to come up with a plan for what you want your car to be. How much more power do you need/want. If you are looking for say under a 30hp gain, then it probably doesn't matter what order you do things in. Injectors, ECU and maybe a turbo. If you are going big, start with the cheapest and safest (don't put huge injectors in until you have a big enough turbo, intercooler etc). An upgraded intercooler won't do you much on a stock engine but if it prepares the way to safely run bigger injectors etc then it should be first.

If you are going all out then your first step is to pull the motor and start doing some internal upgrades.
Tyler

Reply #3March 06, 2015, 05:56:36 pm

Eastcoasterlocal56

« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2015, 05:56:36 pm »