S-PAutomotive.com

Author Topic: Joe's collection of Westfalia bits  (Read 5988 times)

Reply #15September 27, 2013, 09:15:01 pm

JoeCanuck

• Junior

Re: Joe's collection of Westfalia bits
« Reply #15 on: September 27, 2013, 09:15:01 pm »
Another Jetta pic and a couple more of the AAZ.
« Last Edit: September 27, 2013, 09:18:53 pm by JoeCanuck »
Coming Soon; 1985 Westfalia diesel conversion.
Currently; 2000 Dodge Cummins 4x4 Quad Cab

Reply #16September 27, 2013, 09:16:22 pm

JoeCanuck

• Junior

« Reply #16 on: September 27, 2013, 09:16:22 pm »
The Westfalia and the 1.6td mounted within...I'm new to this game but one thing struck me as odd...the injector pump on the 1.6 in the van has a different setup for connecting the pressure line to the turbo.  Instead of the diaphram on top, it has a setup off to the right. 

Any ideas?
« Last Edit: September 27, 2013, 09:21:52 pm by JoeCanuck »

Reply #17September 28, 2013, 06:21:19 pm

JoeCanuck

• Junior

« Reply #17 on: September 28, 2013, 06:21:19 pm »
So it looks like I have 4 injection pumps, 3 on the engines and one extra in the parts pile.  The ones for the 1.9's look like stock AAZ pumps.  The one on the 1.6 in the van seems to be from a 1.6 JX euro vanagon engine, and the last pump looks like a stock 1.6td unit.

After driving the Jetta for a bit, I definitely will want some more oomph out of the engine...especially in the much heavier van, but I'm not looking for a wheelie van.

I think I'll need at least 120hp and I'm looking for a balance of power and reliability.  My thoughts are to get what I can out of the stock parts; turn up the smoke screw, do the governor mod, get boost up to around 20psi and play with the boost pin. 

Any thoughts?

Reply #18September 28, 2013, 07:19:20 pm

Gizmoman

• Veteran

• Personal Text
    AAZ 1.9, HE 200 Turbo, 82 Vanagon, AAP 5 speed
« Reply #18 on: September 28, 2013, 07:19:20 pm »
120+ is what I'm hoping for as well.