Fixmyvw.com

Author Topic: Help troubleshoot a Yanmar 4TN82E-AS diesel in a Mustang 940 Skidsteer  (Read 9493 times)

March 25, 2013, 12:40:53 am

rabin505

• www.505turbo.com
Hi guys,

A friend of mine is having issues with his Mustang skidsteer not wanting to start.  I figured this might be a good place to see if anyone can offer suggestions on what could possibly be the issue:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dlAL_6KD5z0&feature=youtube_gdata_player

What I know so far:
Started and ran for 30sec.. idled down and stalled. Then this...  (see video)
Thought it was out of fuel (it was low)
Fuelled and bled system
A shot of ether almost makes it stop turning over (which I find odd). 

I'm just getting into diesels myself, and suggested a tiny shot of ether to see what it did - IE if it roared to life a little more.  It causing the cranking to almost stall out makes me think something else is wrong rather than it just being a fueling / air in the fuel system issue.

Hoping those of you with much more experience can maybe tell from the video what some possible causes could be so that we can get this thing going again.  Saskatchewan is getting some CRAZY snow fall and he needs to dig out!

Thanks in advance for any and all suggestions.

Rabin

1986 505 TD wagon (2.5L XD3T w/ 4sp automatic)

Reply #1March 25, 2013, 12:52:18 am

8v-of-fury

The ether will goo boom before the piston gets to TDC. It does this because it is EXTREMELY volatile as that is what its purpose is right? ;). So the ether goes bang when the piston is half way up and already at gasoline engine compression.. this massive explosion is fighting the piston up to TDC, which is the slowing or even stopping of the starter that you are experiencing.

No more ETHER, BAD BAD BAD. lol.

If it ran and then stopped for some unknown reason.. They usually have some pretty stubborn fuel systems on those to bleed properly especially if they are older and un-cared for.

Are you sure the system is bled 100%?