S-PAutomotive.com

Author Topic: Intercooling  (Read 7488 times)

Reply #30February 17, 2013, 08:09:15 pm

CrazyAndy

• Veteran

Re: Intercooling
« Reply #30 on: February 17, 2013, 08:09:15 pm »
Vanbcguy, that setup is beautiful!  So much less piping distance than an front mount air-to-air, and with the claims you make that must mean great spool and efficiency under boost.  Checked out the 600Hp kit, and it's very customizable; I like it a lot, especially the selection of heat exchangers to fit in front of various sizes and heights of radiators.  Beats the heck out of cutting a MK1 front support member to fit an ebay IC.

Reply #31February 18, 2013, 12:56:13 am

vanbcguy

• Administrator
  • Veteran

• Personal Text
    Vancouver, BC
« Reply #31 on: February 18, 2013, 12:56:13 am »
Have you had it long enough to measure any fuel economy change?

I've been running it for nearly 2 years now, I put it in May 2011.

Yep, there was a definite increase in economy - I am reading here in the TDI forum now as I have an AHU sitting on my garage floor I just bought, but my current motor is a 1.6TD.  My overall "average" numbers are a bit tricky to sort as I tow a trailer with my car fairly often on my longer trips, but my best ever "naked" number prior to the intercooler was 6.7L/100km with most of my runs in the mid 7's.  That was running at about 15PSI.  Since the intercooler I've been running my K24 at around 22PSI, and my best recorded economy was exactly 5.0L/100km.  Most highway trips are coming in the mid to low 6's here in the Pacific Northwest.  On average post-IC the numbers have been much better, but I would have to start doing actual math to give a specific number.

Bryn

1994 Jetta - AHU M-TDI - Jezebel Jetta
2004 Jetta Wagon - 1.8T - Blitzen

Reply #32February 18, 2013, 01:58:55 am

vanbcguy

• Administrator
  • Veteran

• Personal Text
    Vancouver, BC
« Reply #32 on: February 18, 2013, 01:58:55 am »