Fixmyvw.com

Author Topic: Brand Newbie here - working on a Land Speed Project (1.5L or less diesel).  (Read 18223 times)

Reply #45January 09, 2012, 03:31:06 pm

R.O.R-2.0

• Veteran

• Personal Text
    Pacific Northwest - Oregon - USA
Re: Brand Newbie here - working on a Land Speed Project (1.5L or less diesel).
« Reply #45 on: January 09, 2012, 03:31:06 pm »
I'm curious about the glow plug deletion.  This is something new to me.  I realize that removing the GP's would reduce compression a bit, but would it really be worthwhile to remove the GP's and just fill the holes with some plugs?

It seems to me that leaving the GP's in, for easier starting, would outweigh any potential performance benefit to be had by lowering the compression ratio even further.

Like I said, this is all new to me, so please feel free to set me straight.

Steve.

if you delete the plugs, you wont blow a plug apart from having to use ether to start it..

the big tractor puller diesels use LOTS to start their engines, and keep them running long enough to sustain life..

i imagine it will be such low compression that ether will be required..
92 Jetta GLI - Black, 1.6D w/ GT2056V turbo..
86 GTI - 4 Door, Med Twilight Gray, Tow Machine..
86 Audi Coupe GT - Tornado Red, All Stock.. WRECKED.
89 Toyota 4Runner - Dark Grey Metallic, LIFTED!

Turbo: exhaust gasses go into the turbocharger and spin it, witchcraft happens and you go faster.

Reply #46January 09, 2012, 06:38:56 pm

MJF

• Veteran

« Reply #46 on: January 09, 2012, 06:38:56 pm »
Umm, I don't see the reason of lowering compression? And removing glow plugs? That sounds just stupid with idis. Stock compression ratio is more than ok with your power goals. You can have engine that behaves and starts like stock engine and will make 150hp.
'74 VW Scirocco TD
'86 Audi 80q 1,9TDic
'01 Audi A6q 2,5TDI

Reply #47January 09, 2012, 07:10:50 pm

R.O.R-2.0

• Veteran

• Personal Text
« Reply #47 on: January 09, 2012, 07:10:50 pm »