S-PAutomotive.com

Author Topic: Exhaust valve contact all four pistons! PICS ADDED  (Read 12525 times)

Reply #15September 13, 2011, 12:54:16 pm

wil892

• Junior

Re: Exhaust valve contact all four pistons! PICS ADDED
« Reply #15 on: September 13, 2011, 12:54:16 pm »
Ok, I had a chance to compare this head with my old head (which is genuine). It looks like the exhaust valves are a lot closer to the cylinder head face than my old genuine head. They really are almost level with the face of the head whereas the old genuine head has its exhaust valves sunken further into the head with a greater distance between the face.

I think i'm going to take the head to where I got it to have it checked out and just see what they say about it. I have no technical experience with cylinder head building so not really in the best of positions to point the finger.

While the head has worked, I think i'm going to try and find a decent genuine one that I can get built up, as this has kind of shown me why these "chinese" cylinder heads haven't the best name.
1991 Golf MK2 GTD

Reply #16September 23, 2011, 11:43:46 am

wil892

• Junior

« Reply #16 on: September 23, 2011, 11:43:46 am »
Ok, spoke to the place who originally built the head. They are very helpful but are blaming it on incorrect timing, which is fair enough as it must happen quite a lot.
HOWEVER, I know for a fact this engine has always had correct timing, so I believe the head is still to blame.

Is there a minimum valve recession spec that is required in these engines? Doing a search I have found there is obviously a maximum, but no minimum.
Basically the exhaust valves are showing next to no recession from the cylinder head surface, while the inlets show visible recession as on my old head.
There is no camshaft installed so all valves are fully seated.