S-PAutomotive.com

Author Topic: I need a welder, opinions.  (Read 7118 times)

August 22, 2010, 11:00:08 pm

8v-of-fury

I need a welder, opinions.
« on: August 22, 2010, 11:00:08 pm »
Have had very little time welding, but something I want to get in to. And I want to get myself start up with a good base model all around welder. I was looking at Lincoln Electric from Crappy Tire and they sell this one in a kit where you get everything you need minus the gas bottle. Gloves, mask, hammer, brush, two wire rolls (normal and flux-rod), regulator, and a DVD to tell you wth to do. :P

However it is $700! I mean really its a good starting point.. but i was advised by a friend who is a welder by trade and has his own welding business to find a good used mig with bottle included and start there instead..

I will most likely be using it to fab up random stuff for whatever tickles my fancy to make.. ;) Mild steel mostly I'm assuming which is why I presume i will do best with a mig.. for price and ease of use.

Whats your opinion?

Reply #1August 22, 2010, 11:24:12 pm

rallydiesel

• Veteran

Re: I need a welder, opinions.
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2010, 11:24:12 pm »
I have nothing to offer other than Canadian Tire often has big sales on welders since they don't really sell too many of them. I have seen the Lincoln migpak 140 for $500. I am just waiting for my local store to go under the 500 mark and I will snap a migpak up.
2006 Jetta TDI - gtb1749v, Malone 2, Frank's Titan 2 cam, VR6 clutch....
1991 Jetta TD - sold :(
2001 Golf TDI - Son's
1981 Rabbit - BEW tdi swap project

"ONCE YOU GO CLACK, YOU NEVER GO BACK"

Reply #2August 22, 2010, 11:29:24 pm

8v-of-fury

« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2010, 11:29:24 pm »
Here is a Lincoln 180 Migpak. I only sway towards this because it has all the accessories, which I will need as well being a new welder and all.

Just for confirmation.. Flux Core means the ability to weld without gas correct? like a full electric welder??