S-PAutomotive.com

Author Topic: IP Timing does matter  (Read 4033 times)

March 04, 2010, 03:28:04 pm

motomike33y

• Junior

IP Timing does matter
« on: March 04, 2010, 03:28:04 pm »
I've been working with my rabbit diesels, vanagon diesels, jetta diesels for years and have always managed to put the IP back on so that vehicle would run.  I knew that there was adjustment in the IP, and had gotten the gauge, but thought it was more for fine-tuning than necessity.  My reading on this forum during the past several months seemed to follow that general thought.  Then.....my 91 jetta,1.6 NA, which I've been fiddling with for a couple years geting thing replaced/put back together was a difficult starting project.  I checked glow plugs, rebuilt injectors, etc. and got lots of smoke but no start.  Even tried the gauge and thought things were within acceptable tolerance.  Finally was able to get it started by towing, much smoke, worse running when cold start pulled out.  Wouldn't start w/starter.  I loosened the bolts and moved the IP as retarded as I could.  Lo and behold, it would start-still way too much smoke, so I used a bar to assist in moving it to the bolt limits.  started well, but now could clear it some w/cold start pull.  Finally experimented and advanced it until it seems to start well and run cleanly when warm w/cold start in.  Long way to say thanks for all the info on this forum that helped me accomplish what seemed like a miracle to me a couple months ag.

82 vanagon 1.6 waiting rebuild
81 jetta w/dasher 1.5 engine
91 jetta w/ 85 golf 1.6 NA- work in progress           suzuki samurai hardtop that may someday be diesel
2012 golf tdi

Reply #1March 07, 2010, 01:33:47 am

8v-of-fury

Re: IP Timing does matter
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2010, 01:33:47 am »