Author Topic: What are my options?  (Read 1898 times)

September 18, 2008, 04:38:39 pm

TurboTwo

What are my options?
« on: September 18, 2008, 04:38:39 pm »
Hi my name is Brandin, I frequent some forums, but it's my first time posting here.

I have a 1993 Jetta 1.9TD, and it has some major problems.  Currently it does not run and I'm pretty sure it needs a new head, but I'll start from the beginning.

I was on a road trip and about 150k into the trip I noticed my engine had a loud irregular sound coming from it, and seemed a little down on power. I had checked all the fluids before we set off, so I just kept going.  A couple hours later we were even more down on power, could barely accelerate past 100km/h, and had thick black smoke when we did.  Eventually the oil light came on, and we shut it down on the interstate outside some hick town in Minnesota.  I checked the oil level, and it was fine.  After speaking with some guys at a repair shop they told us our only hope of getting it fixed was in Fargo, and that we likely had a cracked head and driving it probably wouldn't break anything that wouldn't already need to be replaced.  We rented a car and went on with our trip.

A few days later we tried driving it back to Fargo, and 5 miles outside Fargo it completely quit on us.  It won't start, but the engine turns over.  We towed it back to Canada, and pulled the valve cover off.  Several parts inside were broken and flying around in the head, the cam is severely gouged, and there's damage to the head itself.  When I drained the oil pure antifreeze came out for a couple seconds before any oil did.  

So my questions are, how likely is it that there's bottom end damage?  Which parts from the head can I safely re-use?  How much does a TDI crank fix typically cost?  How much do rebuilt/used heads typically go for?

Thanks

Reply #1September 20, 2008, 08:52:48 am

TurboTwo

What are my options?
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2008, 08:52:48 am »
Anybody?