S-PAutomotive.com

Author Topic: '91 Jetta 1.6 turbo diesel questions (no fuel)  (Read 4062 times)

February 21, 2008, 08:04:15 pm

tractors101

'91 Jetta 1.6 turbo diesel questions (no fuel)
« on: February 21, 2008, 08:04:15 pm »
Hello, I am new to the whole world of VW diesels and have some questions. I recently picked up a '91 Jetta with a 1.6 turbo diesel (it says ecodiesel if that matters), and have been trying to get it running. From what I know about the car it has been sitting for a little while, apparantly it had a problem and thats why it was parked. Everything so far seems to be ok on the engine, but it is not getting fuel. The car came with a Chilton manual which has not been any help, can anyone tell me if this car has a in-tank fuel pump, a in-line fuel pump, or does the injection pump itself have a pump on it? I'm familiar with many small diesel engines used on equipment, and they usually have a low pressure in-line pump to get the fuel to the injection pump. I'm just confused on this because I can't find a pump anywhere and the injection pump is not drawing the fuel into it by itself. The fuel shut-off solenoid is working correctly by the way. If the injection pump is supposed to draw the fuel and it is not drawing the fuel, is there a diaphram in the pump that commonly goes bad? Any help would be greatly appreciated, I'm having a hard time finding any info on this engine. Thanks!    

Mark

Reply #1February 21, 2008, 11:35:44 pm

jimfoo

• Veteran

• http://www.66rover.com
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2008, 11:35:44 pm »
There is a vane pump inside the injection pump. The vanes can get stuck, or if there are any air leaks between it and the tank, it won't suck fuel. If you put a clear line on the fitting on the IP where the return goes, you can try sucking on it to prime everything. You may then need to crack the injector lines at the injectors and crank it over until you see fuel at each injector.
Jim