Author Topic: Total Newbie, injection pump questions  (Read 5920 times)

January 14, 2008, 08:16:35 pm

The Mad Hatter

• Junior

Total Newbie, injection pump questions
« on: January 14, 2008, 08:16:35 pm »
Hello to all!  I've always liked the diesel VW's, my father has one, and i just recently purchased an 85 Golf with the 1.6L.  I got a great deal for the car ($300 for a running driving car in decent shape), but has one major issue(and some minor ones): a massively leaking injection pump!

Well, i've never worked on one of these old diesels.  SO what am i getting into.  I'm no more than a shadetree mechanic.  I know i cannot rebuild the pump myself, so that will be commissioned  :cry:   But, is the removal, and subsequent re-installation something that can be handled by a newbie?  Or should i just commission the whole deal?  How much would that cost!?!?  So many questions...

Also, i've read on here about these "Giles Pumps".  Since my pump is leaking significantly, and will need a rebuild anyway, how much more would i pay to get my pump rebult by Giles over a stock rebuild?  From what i've read, it's definately worth it.  

My plans for the car are simple.  A reliable, economical daily driver.  Nothing special.  Though i will add things along the way to make the car more "efficient", like better exhaust and intake, etc.  I know, so many questions, but i appreciate any help!

Reply #1January 14, 2008, 09:09:48 pm

burn_your_money

• Global Moderator
  • Veteran

• Personal Text
    Bright, On
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2008, 09:09:48 pm »
If you haven't already take a look in the FAQs at the threads related to setting pump timing, they will give you a general idea
Tyler

Reply #2January 14, 2008, 09:27:02 pm

The Mad Hatter

• Junior

« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2008, 09:27:02 pm »